Skip to main content

Modify a Presto Cluster

Resizing a Presto cluster#

Changing the number of nodes in the cluster is very easy. Click on the edit icon Edit icon in the Number of worker nodes section.

Edit number of Presto nodes

Update the number of nodes and click Update.

Resize Presto cluster

The cluster will be moved into a Pending state. However, the cluster will still be available for querying.

important

When you reduce the number of worker nodes, the Presto cluster tries to gracefully remove the nodes, however it can result in query failures.

Changing the Workload Profile#

You can change the workload profile after creating a cluster, and a cluster restart is not required. However, the change will only apply to the new queries.

To change the workload profile, click on the edit icon in the Concurrency section of cluster information.

Edit workload profile

This will navigate to a page where you can update the workload profile. Update the workload profile and click Update.

Update workload profile

Managing Presto Users#

To manage Presto users—such as adding or removing users—click on the Manage Presto Users button in the Presto Users section of the cluster details.

Presto users for the Presto cluster

This will navigate to a page where you can add or remove Presto users by checking or unchecking the corresponding user checkbox, respectively. You can also create a new Presto user by clicking on the Create Presto User button. After the new Presto user is created, you can add that user to this cluster. The newly created Presto user is part of the global pool of Presto users and will also be available as an option to all other clusters.

Manage Presto users for the Presto cluster

Change Single Presto User Credentials#

Presto clusters created with compute plane versions below 3.0 only support a single Presto user per cluster. In this case, you can change the single Presto user credentials by clicking on the Change Credentials button in the Connection Details section of the cluster details.

info

If you are on a compute plane version below 3.0 and would like to be upgraded, please reach out to your Ahana representative or email support@ahana.io. Once upgraded, any existing single user Presto clusters can be migrated to use multiple Presto users.

Single Presto user cluster

This will navigate to a page where you can change the username and password for the single Presto user.

Single Presto user cluster credentials

info

If you are on a compute plane version 3.0+, the application will let you know that the cluster can easily be migrated to support to multiple Presto users.

Migrate to Presto users